Navigation aid

DES - Online Annual Report 2008

My Annual Report

Store page
My Annual Report

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board supervises and advises the Executive Board in its management activities in accordance with the provisions of German company law and its rules of procedure. It appoints members of the Executive Board, and significant business transacted by the Executive Board is subject to its approval. The Supervisory Board is composed of six members who are elected by the Annual General Meeting.

The Supervisory Board has established the information and reporting duties to be met by the Executive Board and has formed an Executive Committee and an Audit Committee, each comprising three people.

The members of the Supervisory Board are:

Manfred Zaß, Chairman
Dr. Michael Gellen, Deputy Chairman
Thomas Armbrust
Dr. Jörn Kreke
Alexander Otto
Dr. Bernd Thiemann

The members of the Executive Committee are Mr. Zaß, Dr. Gellen and Mr. Armbrust. The Executive Committee is chaired by the Chairman of the Supervisory Board. The Committee discusses and passes relevant resolutions on urgent business matters. Moreover, it is responsible for human resources issues concerning the Executive Board and for reviewing the Company‘s corporate governance principles.

The members of the Audit Committee are also Mr. Zaß, Dr. Gellen and Mr. Armbrust. The Audit Committee is chaired by Mr. Armbrust. It is responsible for issues relating to accounting, auditing and the preparation of the annual and consolidated financial statements. Former members of the Company‘s Executive Board and the Chairman of the Supervisory Board generally do not chair the Audit Committee, to avoid conflicts of interest.

Continue reading: Remuneration

Back to: Executive Board